New Member Appointed to Parkland College Board

July 13, 2009 — Parkland College is pleased to announce the recent appointment of a new member to its Board of Governors. Advanced Education, Employment & Labour Minister Honourable Rob Norris appointed Sally Bishop as representative to the Parkland College Board of Governors.

Sally represents the board from Kamsack, where she has proudly lived for over 40 years since immigrating to Canada from London, England. Sally is an active business operator and community member. In the recent past, Sally operated several businesses in Kamsack. She owned and operated the Duck Mountain Motor Hotel for 9 years and concurrently ran a small gift shop. She is currently secretary treasurer of a private property management and oil and gas exploration company.

She is also actively involved in the Saskatchewan Music Festival and is on the executive committee for the Parkland Festival. She was awarded the Saskatchewan Centennial Medal for the Arts in 2005.

Sally appreciates the diversity of her community and says she routinely finds ways to promote her community. She is a member of the Kamsack Revitalization Committee, Duck Mountain Provincial Park Cabins Owners Association and has actively participated in numerous roles in her church at the local, diocesan and national level.

In the early 1970s Sally was one of the founding members of the Minister’s Advisory Committee to establish Community Colleges in Saskatchewan and was a regional organizer and board member for Parkland College (formerly Parkland Community College).

“We welcome Sally back to Parkland College and we look forward to her sharing her insights and unique perspectives as the College moves forward with its strategic focus”, said Parkland College President Fay Myers. “Sally brings a wealth of community experience and a business background that will be valuable to the Board.”

The Parkland College Board of Governors plays a key role in ensuring that Parkland College moves forward in the development of education across the region. Sally joins the board with current members Del Killick, John Oussoren, Oliver Pask, Raymond Sass, and Doris Stelmackowich.